Everything about the pines

The genus PINUS

The genus PINUS includes 110 species of pine. Here we discuss the species with the following botanical classification (John Grimshaw's Classification - 2009, inspired by David S. Gernandt's classification - 2005):

   > Genus PINUS
      > Subgenus PINUS
         > PINUS section
             - PINUS subsection, which include the Scots pine, the black pine, the mountain pine and the mugo pine
             - PINASTER subsection which includes the maritime pine, the Aleppo pine and the parasol pine.

These trees have different characteristics but are all renowned for their pine cones with thick scales.

INFO: The terms "Douglas Pine" or "Oregon Pine" are often used to designate the Douglas, but this pine belongs to the genus PSEUDOTSUGA rather than the PINUS. That's why it doesn't feature on this website.

The genus PINUS is only found in the northern hemisphere. It can be found in almost all forests located between the Tropic of Cancer (latitude 23°) and the Arctic Circle (66°)


Aire naturelle du genre PINUS sur la Terre



All you need to know about French Pine

French Pine in two minutes

Everything is good in the pine France!

Who are we ?



Who are we ?

French pine is found throughout France and provides an abundant resource of timber and industrial wood in the immediate vicinity of industry players and end users. This website was created by the APEP, l'Association pour la Promotion des Emplois du Pin (the Association for the Promotion of the Use of Pine), which unites all professionals who use French pine, whether in outdoor structures, construction, interior design, logistics or industry.